Survival of the Fittest or Cooperate and Succeed?

Standard

I’m reading  ‘The Hidden Life Of Trees’ by Peter Wohlleben at the moment – I’m reading it very slowly as I keep popping my head outside and into the bushland to ‘check out the subjects’!

One thing that strikes me as fascinating is his narrative of co-operation and how that challenges our ‘survival of the fittest’ mentality.

Of course I accept that nature (even human nature) is most likely a complex mixture of both but why not elevate the concept of mutual success and prosperity? Why is it so hard for us to champion that as part of the narrative of success?

I only had to go so far as the middle of my garden to see this concept embodied.

2016-11-21-07-25-20

And no, this isn’t some communist manifesto it’s nature. Our nature.

Leave a Reply

