We live in a magical place.

Standard

The Blue Mountains are a magical place to live for a tree-lover (and possibly hugger) like me.  There is something so soothing and right about taking a stroll through the Blue Gums, listening to the birds chatter and smelling the Eucalypts and Tea Tree.

I have always been a forest girl, some of my fondest memories from my early childhood involve walks through Dingley Woods  a few minutes drive from my house. We would take a picnic and rug and spend a couple of hours amongst the Bluebells and mosses.

The Blue Mountains doesn’t have Bluebells but it does have the Blue Trees and an amazingly diverse bird life which includes the very sweet Superb Fairy Wren as captured here by the team at National Parks.

Superb Fairy-wren (Malurus cyaneus)

Superb Fairy-wren (Malurus cyaneus)

I feel immensely privileged that I can walk out of my front door and onto a beautiful bush trail and be enveloped in such beauty, peace and tranquility. I feel most human when I’m out there,  connected, immersed.

I do wonder what will happen to us as a species if we lose these every-day wildernesses?  If the only places we go to are shopping malls and manicured parks.   I hope that I never see a day when that is all there is.

Blue Gums

Leave a Reply

